Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: BBC Proms for the sleepless

  1. #1
    Admiral of Fugues Contratrombone64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    5,340
    Post Thanks / Like

    BBC Proms for the sleepless

    My home town orchestra's Proms concert is being broadcast tomorrow (Sydney time). Here's the program:

    1.00pm AFTERNOON CONCERT
    From the Royal Albert Hall, London
    BBC PROMS 2010
    Sydney Symphony
    Hélène Grimaud, piano
    Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor
    R Strauss Der Rosenkavalier: Suite 23'27
    Ravel Piano Concerto in G 22'18
    Scriabin Symphony No 3 in C minor, Op 43 (The Divine Poem) 42'31
    Encore: Elgar Chanson de Matin 3'28
    Courtesy of the BBC

    A link to where you can listen online is here: http://www.abc.net.au/classic/audio/

    If you're in London it's on at 3am Saturday morning (your time).
    If you're in New York it's on at 11pm on Friday evening (your time).
    If you're in Warsaw or Copenhagen it's on at 5am Saturday morning (your time).
    if you're in Moscow it's on at 7am Saturday morning (your time).

    The reviews from London were extremely positive (no surprises) as the orchestra is excellent (though don't tell the Yanks that).
    I'm not an atheist and I don't think I can call myself a pantheist. We are in the position of a little child entering a huge library filled with books in many different languages. The child knows someone must have written those books. It does not know how. The child dimly suspects a mysterious order in the arrangement of the books but doesn't know what it is. That, it seems to me, is the attitude of even the most intelligent human being toward God.
    —Albert Einstein.

  2. #2
    Admiral of Fugues Contratrombone64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    5,340
    Post Thanks / Like
    A full orchestral score of the Scriabin "symphony" can be found at IMSLP's website (www.imslp.org).
    I'm not an atheist and I don't think I can call myself a pantheist. We are in the position of a little child entering a huge library filled with books in many different languages. The child knows someone must have written those books. It does not know how. The child dimly suspects a mysterious order in the arrangement of the books but doesn't know what it is. That, it seems to me, is the attitude of even the most intelligent human being toward God.
    —Albert Einstein.

  3. #3
    Duckmeister teddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    8,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Certainly worth a tune in.

    teddy

Similar Threads

  1. BBC Proms
    By Contratrombone64 in forum Classical Music Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: Sep-20-2010, 01:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •