Death of Windows

JHC

Chief assistant to the assistant chief
who cares? I don't.

FU Jack I'm OK eh ;)
Just a timely nudge to the few still running Widows and there are quite a few (I still run Windows on my Lap top) if you have a crash and do not have a full back up CD you will have problems.

JHC

Bill, I think you are right but a full back up CD would be prudent for users.

Sorry David but I would have to kill you if I told, suffice it to say it is a very exclusive club and membership is by invitation only. sorry.

I hope they won't have to kill you for revealing to us that you are a member.:)

Lovemore Nanjaya.:guitar:

dll927

This whole software business is a constant effort to revise and come up with something just slightly new, that keeps the bottom line flowing. Microsoft was on federal trial a few years ago, but they got off the hook. You know what they say about money and justice.

As an amateur photographer, I have Adobe Elements. So far I have bought three versions of it. Every time I buy one, it isn't long before a "new" version comes along -- they are currently on version #8, or were last I heard. Even the photo magazines said the #8 was very little different from #7, so don't bother.

And of course, nearly all of the software programs for computers have a "subscription" system, and you have to "renew" it every year. They don't leave anyone in the dark about what they they are out for --- $$$.

Dorsetmike

I manage to get along mstly on free appications, Open Office instead of Microsloth; for photographic work The GIMP and Picasa do most things, Audacity for audio editing, surprising what you can find if you search around, being on a pension sure is an incentive to look out the freeware.

teddy

Duckmeister