Personal opera and choral listening project

Fretless

So, I have always been bothered by my own prejudices and troubles getting into opera and vocal music in general. I studied a bunch of it in music school and I've played orchestrally in many arias and recitatives but not whole operas. Anyways, my close colleague got me a subscription to Opera News, and from there I'm trying to expand and appreciate. My public library has a mountain of opera and choral music so I'm starting at the top and making my way through the collection. Right now I'm going alphabetically, but I do make detours so I don't burn out on one composer. They also have many solo discs stuck in with the operas themselves. I try to pick a disc out of the Opera, Choral, and Voice sections each week/every other week (depending on time).

So far this academic year I've heard:
Victoria De Los Angeles--The Very Best Of...
Dario Argento--Te Deum; From the Diary of Virginia Woolf
Durufle--Messe "Cum Jubilo"
John Adams--Harmonium; I Was Looking at the Ceiling and Then I Saw the Sky; On the Transmigration of Souls; The Death of Klinghoffer
Robert Ashley--Perfect Lives
Lorraine Hunt Lieberson--Bach Cantatas BWV 82 and 199
Marcelo Alvarez--Bel Canto
Louis Andriessen--De Staat; De Tijd
Milton Babbitt--An Elizabethan Sextette
Roberto Alagna--Roberto Alagna; Nessun Dorma
Anonymous 4--Love's Illusion; American Angels
Angelika Kirchschlager--Bach Arias
Franco Alfano--Cyrano de Bergerac
Adam de la Halle--The World of Robin and Marion
Brian Asawa--16th Century Lute Songs
Warren Benson--Songs for the End of the World
Eugen D'Albert--Tiefland
Osvaldo Golijov--Ainadamar
Marian Anderson--Schubert and Schumann lieder
Alla Francesca--Llibre Vermell de Montserrat
Mark Adamo--Little Women
Rachmaninoff--The Bells

Currently listening to: Leonardo Balada's Cristobal Colon

I have been least impressed so far by the John Adams works, and the Argento Te Deum was a real drag as well.