Trying To Help A Friend

Elvenking

So here is the story, my friend, a guy I have known since I was sixteen, is so damned good with mixing and composing anything under the sun. From game music, movie themes, exact duplicates of complex songs, to heavy metal. He has a huge portfolio of both covers and originals. I truly beleive in this guy as a composer myself. I am trying to help him realize his dream. He is a real estate guy who hates every day. But he has this enormous talent that I really want to carry him away from all the ****. So if you can...please help me with any suggestions. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of this forum. :)

John Watt

I see your first post is a difficult one, not just about notes, but breaking into the business.
You know the saying about religion where people say you "take a leap of faith".
You're asking about how to take that even bigger leap onstage.
Despite whatever equipment and catalogue of compositions your friend has,
you are starting from scratch when it comes to shaping a new career.
Start a band. Get out and play. That's all I can say.

John Watt

Monseniorsignor Corno Dolce! I have to buy an echo to get my sound teeming, as close as I get.
And I wish I was reliable about sage advice.
I was a little facetious, typing "breaking into the business".
I got my first full-time gig filling in for a guitarist who broke his arm falling off a bike.
In Niagara Falls, I gotta admit, a hot place to fall.

Yes, I don't care if you've got an eight hundred year old musical instrument, that's yours.
Take it outside and start playing. That's so easy. All you have to do is decide to either
play what you like, or play what they like. And that's not stereo.

Corno Dolce! Any chance you're going to put up photos of your new local architecture?
Got any golden domes shining above you? No, I mean the artificial ones.

Last edited:

Corno Dolce

Admiral Honkenwheezenpooferspieler