You scratch my back ... ... ... ...

Dorsetmike

> Ad in a local newspaper:
>
> We are a small restaurant located near the city center, and we are looking for musicians to play for free, this will give you the opportunity to promote your music and sell your CD’s.
> This is not a residency, only for special occasions to begin with and could turn into regular work once we see a positive response from the public.
> We prefer you to play Jazz, Rock and rhythms from all over the world and from various cultures. Are you interested in promoting your work? Then get in touch with us as soon as
> possible.

>
> Reply from a musician
>
> Happy New Year! I am a musician with a big house and I’m looking for a restaurant owner to come to my house to promote his restaurant and cook for free for my friends and me.
> This will not be a daily event, it will only take place on special occasions to start with, however, it could eventually grow and turn into something big if the response is positive. We prefer first class meat and exotic dishes from different cultures. Are you interested in promoting your restaurant? Then get in touch with us as soon as possible.

marval

Well the restaurant did ask for that sort of reply. I wonder if they manage to do each other a favour.

teddy

Duckmeister
Love it. I may start canvasing some of the local business people who ask me for free advice, and the take my business elsewhere.

teddy

JHC

Chief assistant to the assistant chief
For a new group just setting up this would be a good arrangement ..... you learn to play for an audience, you learn what not to play and you will find out how to deal with bum notes and mistakes. so not all bad.

Dorsetmike