Hello everyone

draug

Dear All

Hi. I joined this site because I love classical music and everyone here can spell. I looked at other sites and got tired of reading opinions from people who "reely lik Mozart cuz IMHO hez like cool!" I assume they were only posting in order to brush up on their English Language GCSE, if such a thing still exists.
I am English (I have to say this to avoid annoying the Scots, Welsh and Irish; British being de trop in many quarters.)
I used to play the piano but after 15 years of lessons with a thoroughly uninspiring teacher and 'A' level music with teachers who did not even know the correct syllabus, I retired, coached but crap as the saying goes in cricketing circles.
At one time I might actually have limped into Hull University to read music but decided not to trouble them with my mediocrity. However, the good news was that I was jolly good at science! So I am a biologist and latterly a teacher which is a tremendous job.
I no longer reside in the UK and have difficulty seeing it as I remember it. I have lived in Venezuela, Asia, and Norway and will shortly be moving to the Middle East. I teach in International Schools and love my job. My sons (one biological, the other adopted from China) will be educated in wonderful schools with dozens of nationalities represented. They will grow up aware of many cultures and probably with a few 'Third Culture' hang ups, but I feel it is worth it.
My husband is American and a talented bluesman, playing guitar and harmonica.
So, here I am.
I'm a huge fan of Stephen Hough who reminds me of those 18th century worthies who were experts in everything. He is an intellectual who happens to play the piano rather bloody well (imho?) Here in Norway one cannot avoid Mr Andsnes who is indeed a tremendously self effacing, delightful individual whom I also admire.
Having said all that I have absolutely no style and no convictions (m'lud) and will listen to a well-thought out opinion on anything.
Chin chin