Last edited:

intet_at_tabe

Rear Admiral Appassionata (Ret.)
I was talking to some buddies in another forum like this one talking
about the passing on of Jeff Healy. He was known for his jazz
guitar and a smash hit song Angel Eyes. He will sure be missed
judy tooley

Sad news Ms. Judy

Jeff Healy was blind, but yet he played an awesome blues guitar, most often in his own trio. He would sit on a chair having the guitar placed horisontally on his thighs, and then play the guitar like had he done nothing else his entire life, which is mostly the truth.

He participated with his trio in the old american movie "Road House" starring Patrick Swaysey and Sam Elliott.

I have one album of his on stock "Cover To Cover".

John Watt

Jeff Healy soars.

It's difficult for me to write about Jeff Healy. I was a full time guitarist playing a Strat and Marshall in the early 70's, moving to Toronto way before Jeff Healy happened. I'm also left-handed with the bass string on the bottom. Seeing him as a one dimensional part of Hendrix clone, who I saw in Toronto, I wasn't too impressed. It's too bad he got used to playing on his lap, making me think no-one tried to help him when he started out. He didn't play a lot of chords. Reaching over his strings the same way I do helped him with the wide bends and high string riffs most standard guitarists can't do. Hearing him a few times, I thought it was too bad his band wasn't better. His drummer seemed to be dominating, taking advantage of Jeff's inability to walk around by himself. Even the first few tunes he released played off his blindness. Jeff had a lot to give, and his songs pushed him past the limitations of his business life. He started to stand up towards the end, playing with his hand over the fretboard. I wasn't surprised he gravitated to another, more acoustic instrument, a cornet, that offered no impediments for his lack of sight. Starting his own club and having a house gig for his retro jazz band was a nice thing, getting aw