Any Fiddlers out there?

Green_Ambit

Although I've played the violin for years, I must confess that I have no experience in fiddling whatsoever, and recently decided to fix that. I'm planning on taking a summer class on it. In the meantime, can any veteran fiddlers out there give me some advice on how to start teaching myself?

Thanks.

Contratrombone64

Admiral of Fugues
I'm a viola player, from what I understand the bowing and fingering techniques, whilst similar are quite different ... I'd be curious to hear you report back on how you found it? Very popular in Scandinavian countries, called hardinger, I think?

Corno Dolce

Admiral Honkenwheezenpooferspieler
Dearest RADM CT64,

There is an instrument called the "Hardanger Fiddle":

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardingfele

It has "sympathetic strings" under the bowed strings which add a colourful harmonic timbre to the melodies that you play.

Cheers,

VADM Corno Dolce :tiphat::tiphat::tiphat::tiphat:

methodistgirl

I live where the violin is used as a fiddle. I used to play one myself.
You said that you played violin. Fiddling is not really that much
different. The only difference is the violinist plays nothing but just
classical music. A fiddler on the other hand will play country, gospel,
and bluegrass. Yes I said it right. Where else besides Kentucky do
you get the best fiddlers and Nashville? I better include Cajun music
to the list of fiddle playing. It's easy and fun! You can do it with any
of the violin family including the viola, cello, and double bass.
judy tooley

Contratrombone64

Admiral of Fugues
The techiques are very, very different between the fiddle and the violin ... in subtle ways. The actual design of the instrument is quite different to the violin. It's like comparing an oboe with a clarinet ... they both use a reed, both have holes and that's about where it ends.

Green_Ambit