How to start composing music for movies?

AdidasBabe083

Hi, my name is Kasie and I have a really good friend who is an up coming music composer. He wants to compose music for movies and things, but doesnt know how to go about doing that. :/ Does anyone have any information that could help him.us out in this area? Thanks a bunch! -Kasie

Frederik Magle

Administrator
Staff member
ADMINISTRATOR
Regulator
Hi Kasie and welcome to MIMF.dk, I've moved your post into a thread on it's own (and made a suitable title).
smile.gif

Well, you need to give us a little more information. For instance, what is your friend's previous experience composing music? Is he a complete beginner or does he have musical experience in other fields than film music? I need to know where his starting point is in order to give advice/suggestions on what to do next.

AdidasBabe083

My friend is almost 15 and he has composed several songs. He composed and arranged a song for our Mills Middle School Advanced Band and we played it for one of our concerts and we also played it at the 8th grade graduation ceremony. And he is now working on arranging a piece for the Cordova High School Orchestra. Thanks! -Kasie

corno

Vice Admiral of Notes, Dots & at times also Slurs
Sr. Regulator
Hmm... how has he come about composing so far? Has he had any teachers? Does he play an instrument? Or is he a pianoplayer/singer who's started to write for band and orchestra?
Is your definition of "song" the same as "a musical piece" in general (pianosonata, symphony, violin piece and so on?) or "a song" as a lyrical piece of music which you sing?

Has the band director commented on his work in anyway? is he/she has, how so?

winkin

Kasie,