Just hello

Betzy13

Hi, I'm new at this, so be kind!
Mainly I'm online now looking for information about adjustable organ benches.....the Music Director and I (part-time organist) both have short (SHORT) legs and can't get our bench adjusted satisfactorily, so thought that might be the answer, but all I got from our friends at the SIAGO Bach Birthday Bash Sat was "they're expensive" and no concrete leads. Can anyone out there help with some GOOD advice???
Thanks....and good to be on board.....
I think this'll be quite interesting all around......
Thanks!

jhnbrbr

Hello and welcome to MIMF. I'm sure someone here will be able to help you re reasonably priced adjustable bench. Being tall I have the opposite problem, which is easier to remedy just by putting blocks under feet of the bench. One final thought, which may seem like stating the obvious, but have you explored the possibility of getting a competent carpenter to saw a bit off your existing bench?
John.
PS. The best solution of all is an adjustable pedalboard, of course, otherwise as you lower the bench, you effectively raise the manuals, and make your arms work harder!!

Last edited:

marval

Hello, welcome to the forum. I can't help but do stay around there are many here who I am sure will be able to help.

Margaret

methodistgirl

Welcome to the forum. I have the same delima when I get on the organ
bench because I'm a short 5foot2 and the real organist is over six foot.
I know what you are talking about. When he gets it where he can play
the instrument I can't reach the pedals. I eventualy gave up and joined
the choir and enjoy listening to a professional instead of my pecking on
the keys.
judy tooley

Krummhorn

Administrator
Staff member
ADMINISTRATOR
:wave: Welcome to MIMF, Betzy13.