View Full Version : [CD review] Nosound – Sol29

Mar-30-2009, 18:49

Title: Sol29
Year: 2005
Genre: Dream Prog


1. In the White Air (6:57)
2. Wearing Lies on Your Lips (4:20)
3. The Child's Game (2:46)
4. The Moment She Knew (9:38)
5. Waves of Time (2:07)
6. Overloaded (6:13)
7. The Broken Parts (6:24)
8. Idle End (9:43)
9. Hope for the Future (5:57)
10. Sol29 (10:02)

CD: Nosoundcd05

Italian band led by multiinstrumentalist and composer Giancarlo Erra, also a former member of Porcupine Tree tribute band Redshift.

It is not a surprise, so, that Porcupine Tree is the main influence in the music of NOSOUND. Very specially the slow, more ambient sound of the early days of Porcupine Tree, of albums such as The Sky Moves Sideways and Up the Downstair. Their music also reminds a lot the sound of No-Man (another Steven Wilson side project, where he usually explores his more trippy / dream prog vein), featuring also some obvious influences of Pink Floyd, Bark Psychosis and Sigur Rós. :up:

Sol29, released in 2005, was their debut complete album, and it is a great release from start to end. My favorite track in the album is "The Moment She Knew" (track 4), a 10-minute totally instrumental piece where the musical talent of Giancarlo Erra on the guitar (à la David Gilmour) really shines. :clap:

You can check a promo videoclip of this album at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y__lfperjSY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y__lfperjSY)

And a great performance of the song The Moment She Knew live here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJzkdZZgyl8&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJzkdZZgyl8&feature=related)


Sep-01-2010, 07:30
Thanks for your information. Its a very cool site. Its a really nice one. keep it up!!!! :)