Prog Head

Today it's time to introduce you to another obscure group that for various reasons never got a wide acclaim, but who have their own set of worshippers. Hailing from Gelsenkirchen, MIRROR was formed by five young musicians in 1987, like a vehicle to compose original material in the vein of neo-progressive rock and perform for appreciative audiences at different venues around Germany. These lads were able to put out a debut CD ‘Fountain Of Wisdom' (1990) before departing into abrupt stop. After very long hiatus, the core of the quintet reconvened to continue forward. In result of involving new participants, Mirror made a live album ‘Hörprobe’ (2010) plus the second studio release 'Pictures Of Hope' (2014). Since then, the band took several more years to complete the conceptual work 'No Man's Tale' which is a next step in the project evolution. So now I am here to enlighten you. First off, a needful factoid: the present line-up consists of Uwe Kitza (lead vocals & additional percussions), Stefan Bugal (guitars), Michael Flynn Filipiak (drums / percussions), Günter Köhler (bass), Roland Weidenheimer (keyboards). Their latest disc has a particular assortment of songs dealing with tyranny and hope for freedom. Yep, concept albums do still matter and can be an interesting art form where every progression counts. Here, musical comparisons range from IQ to Marillion to Pallas. The other names that come to my mind are German units Ivory, Bel Air, and Morphelia. With that, Mirror never employ the long format keeping their compositions rather compact that does not falter to combine inventiveness with the fine melodicism. All wrapped up in a lyrical script, when the offer remains consistent from starting 'Prelude' to final 'The Power Of Tears’. The ability to realize that purpose makes CD ‘No Man’s Tale’ quite impressive offer. This album can be ordered from the band's website:


It’s also available via Just For Kicks shop:


Additional link: