The apostrophe and its incorrect use

Contratrombone64

Admiral of Fugues
I work as a "technical editor", hence, spend a lot of time unbuggeringup staff writting from a grammar/spelling/syntax/et ceter point of view.

My local green grocer had "banana's, carrot's, and apple's" to mention just three. I decided it wasn't worthwhile pointing out his error as he's probably first generation Australian and speaks two or more European languages. But it did make me shake my head and grin.

Krummhorn

Administrator
Staff member
ADMINISTRATOR
I hear ya, CT64 ... as an editor/supervisor of an online wiki I know exactly what you are talking about. It boggles my mind how many mistakes there are, especially in this day and age where one only has to press the "F7" key for spelling/grammar corrections in most applications.

NEB

Oooooooooh, that's so dangerous. First, it doesn't always know the word in question and picks something that is quite different in meaning. Second, It's usually American English (something I don't use being English). Then there is the vexing question of there their they're that the computer can never quite solve.

I once quickly typed something up and ran an automatic spell checker over it - one that just did it without too much input from the user. The results were really quite remarkable and not even close to the intended. Every little typo or letters getting mixed by my fingers moving too fast would throw out something that would be appropriate to a Ronnie Barker Sketch. :)

marval

Lynne Truss did a good book on this subject.

Eats, shoots and leaves. Reference a panda in a restaurant, who eats shoots and leaves(bamboo) as opposed to eating, shooting and leaving. It is a tricky one, so many times, especially in newspapers there is the wrong use of an apostrophe, or bad grammar in general.

I try to be correct, but must admit the spell checker does tend to be my best friend.

Margaret

Krummhorn

Administrator
Staff member
ADMINISTRATOR
NEB,