Nostalgia (Petite Melodie)

Tres Piezas Fáciles, Op. 19, No. 3
Nostalgia (Petite Melodie)
by Julio Sagreras (1879 - 1942)

Julio Salvador Sagreras (22 November 1879 – 20 July 1942) was an Argentine guitarist, pedagogue, and composer. Between 1900 and 1936, Sagreras was a professor of guitar at the Académia de Bellas Artes in 1899, and gave many concerts in concert halls and salons, and also participated in radio broadcasts.

Sagreras is also known for his methodical and well-annotated guitar instruction series. It consists of seven books that take the student from the beginner to the advanced stage. The series is so well thought out and so incrementally progressive that it has often been said that the student can teach himself.

The Tres Piezas Fáciles, Op. 19 contains 3 movements:
I. Marcha
II. Maria Luisa (Mazurka)
III. Nostalgia (Petite Melodie)
The work might be named for Maria Luisa Anido (1907 - 1996), an Argentine child prodigy on the guitar who was active until at least the 1980s. However it might be also named for Sagreras' sister.