PDA

View Full Version : How do you connect to the internet?



Krummhorn
Oct-20-2009, 22:15
Thought it would be interesting to learn how others connect to the internet, whether it be via cable, dsl, satellite or dial-up.

The poll is multiple choice - Some people may have several means of connections.

Feel free to include comments good and bad alike about your present or past ISP provider if you like.

greatcyber
Oct-20-2009, 22:17
I use DSL from Bell. It's a pretty good service with only very rare interruptions. I really feel for anyone who still has to use dial-up. I think waiting for something that slow would make me not use the internet very often.

dll927
Oct-20-2009, 22:22
I've been with my current ISP ever since buying my first computer. Generally, I'm one to stick with what I've got as long as I don't feel I'm being taken for a ride. I sometimes wonder a bit about the monthly charges, but I'm satisfied with the service.

I switched from the original dial-up to DSL to speed things up. Now, if somebody could tell me why my computer seems to get slower by the week. Maybe, just like me, it's age.

Krummhorn
Oct-20-2009, 22:41
I had Cox Cable for my internet provider up until a couple weeks ago. I was very unsatisfied with their internet service, even after many service calls, after which it would be great for a couple weeks. My only other option was dial-up due to a "city contract" which gives Cox "exclusive" rights to provide all internet service to residents of the city where I live. Without any competition, they can (and do) provide lousy service and, there isn't thing one residents can do about it, except go back to dial-up, which for me is NOT an option.

Qwest just installed new fox lines (fiber optic wires) in my area, making DSL a viable option. So we went with that .. I now have a constant 12MBps download ALL the time, and my upload speed is a constant 889 KBps. Needless to say, I am a happy camper once again,

Krummhorn
Oct-20-2009, 22:47
. . . Now, if somebody could tell me why my computer seems to get slower by the week. Maybe, just like me, it's age.

Be sure to clear out your "cache" periodically, and remove the cookies. Storing too many of those is "fattening" for the computer, as it has to look at each one, one at a time, when loading internet pages.

Also, dump any "tmp" files from your TEMP directory ... Windows is supposed to delete those automatically, but tends to forget.

marval
Oct-20-2009, 22:53
We use Wireless network, it is very good. It does mean if there are two computers on, we can both have better access and use the same printer.


Margaret

greatcyber
Oct-20-2009, 23:36
Margaret,

If your computer is getting slower each week, it sounds like your computer is getting bogged down with temporary internet files, etc. Also when you add and delete files all the time your hard drive becomes fragmented which causes the computer to respond much slower. I use a programme called Advanced System Care, but there are many others such as winutilities and a smart defrag programme and these take the junk files off of your hard drive and clean up your registry, which also becomes bogged down with superfluous entries. This is computer maintenance which really should be done on a weekly basis. It will keep your computer running like new. There is also one other freeware prog called ccleaner (used to be called crap cleaneer) which is a good one.
You may want to google computer maintenance or computer housekeeping or go to a site such as majorgeeks and read what they suggest. It's all free help.

Hope this is helpful.

wljmrbill
Oct-20-2009, 23:38
dll927 - check your registry and clean it up..many time it has many files are not needed or desired by windows.. and that will speed you up too. I use a" Wincleaner one click" all the time and it sure help clean up thje computer. I have ulta fast DSL from Bellsouth/att .very satisfied with them.

Dorsetmike
Oct-21-2009, 00:15
I used to use AO hell with a cable connection, they transferred their cable users in UK to Virgin Media (whose cable they were using) so now I'm with Virgin Media, I'm paying for 10Mb but it's very variable, now, 11pm, it's just under 1Mb but during the day it's usually 8Mb plus.

greatcyber
Oct-21-2009, 02:20
Dang, that sucks. Cable connection and only 10Mb AND it's variable? What poo! My dsl is 100Mbps. And it's constant.

Contratrombone64
Oct-21-2009, 03:00
I use electricity ...

Dorsetmike
Oct-21-2009, 12:31
Stephen, I ran speed test again this morning, 9.91Mbs, or 9.64 if I have Last.fm streaming on the other PC (networked) which is close enough for me.

I could get a higher speed connection if I pay more, but for most of what I do 10 is enough. I find more problems with some sites which have poor servers or get more traffic than they were designed for; one photography forum I subscribe to often takes up to a minute to generate a page, if it doesn't time out, it's run by a magazine which is part of a group, all the magazines use the same server for their forums, so it does get a bit overloaded.

mariokbee
Oct-21-2009, 13:43
I connect via ADSL from a local telecom provider. It's pretty constant and reliable but expensive as HELL. Well it's enough to say that I pay 2 Mb/s download and 256 Kb/s upload 20€ monthly. Speed is not as big problem as is the allowed internet traffic which is only 5 GB! I don't know if there's some kind of international authority to complain to because it's uselles to complain them them. Reason: the monopoly they hold here in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

dll927
Oct-21-2009, 15:39
This damned exclusivity of cable companies ought to be federally prohibited. Any monopoly will do what it wants and charge what it wants. I wonder how many areas there are that have more than one choice -- I'll bet not many.

I gave up on cable long ago and would never go back. I have Dish satellite. Yes, they up their fees evey once in a while, too, but they are a darned sight better than anything spelled cable.

Krummhorn
Oct-21-2009, 16:51
This damned exclusivity of cable companies ought to be federally prohibited. Any monopoly will do what it wants and charge what it wants. I wonder how many areas there are that have more than one choice -- I'll bet not many.

You got that right ... In my region we have unincorporated (county) and incorporated areas (city). If your fortunate enough to live in the county areas your choice is Comcast :). If you live in the city areas, your choice is Cox :banghead:, thanks to our city fathers, and their presumable kick-backs!



I gave up on cable long ago and would never go back. I have Dish satellite. Yes, they up their fees evey once in a while, too, but they are a darned sight better than anything spelled cable.

I'm not going back to cable ... ever ... Since I signed up for an initial two year contract with Qwest, my internet rate is now locked for life, which is about $22 less than what I was paying Cox for lousy cable service. :rolleyes:

marval
Oct-21-2009, 17:02
Thanks for your advice Stephen, very helpful.


Margaret

greatcyber
Oct-22-2009, 00:42
You're welcome. I've shared the same info with family members after they had the same complaint. Now their computers don't raise their ire as often.

greatcyber
Oct-22-2009, 00:53
You got that right ... In my region we have unincorporated (county) and incorporated areas (city). If your fortunate enough to live in the county areas your choice is Comcast :). If you live in the city areas, your choice is Cox :banghead:, thanks to our city fathers, and their presumable kick-backs!



I'm not going back to cable ... ever ... Since I signed up for an initial two year contract with Qwest, my internet rate is now locked for life, which is about $22 less than what I was paying Cox for lousy cable service. :rolleyes:

If you are lucky enough to live in certain cities or areas of a city that has wifi, you can connect for free. I know that Hollywood, Florida went wifi 3 years ago so if you live there, fast internet for free! There are "hot spots" in many cities that you can connect for free, also. Unfortunately, we are just out of reach for free wifi, but our dsl is about $50 a month.

Definitely, certain sites are more apt to be slow due to heavy traffic. I also use a programme called CFOS which lets you distribute how broadband handles certain applications. That way you tune your computer to your tastes. Huge downloads don't drain bandwidth. I also use a video accelerator so I don't get interruptions while watching vids or streaming video or audio. I'm quite happy with my online experience now.

Krummhorn
Oct-22-2009, 01:59
. . . If you are lucky enough to live in certain cities or areas of a city that has wifi, you can connect for free. I know that Hollywood, Florida went wifi 3 years ago so if you live there, fast internet for free! There are "hot spots" in many cities that you can connect for free, also.

That's true ... parts of downtown Tucson have that - around the city center - we live 15 miles to the East of downtown, but still within city limits, so no freebie wifi, durn it.


. . . but our dsl is about $50 a month.

Ours is at $48 - for 12 MB d/l service.


. . . I also use a programme called CFOS which lets you distribute how broadband handles certain applications . . .

:up: I'll have to check that one out, Stephen. I use some Uniblue products for registry management and computer maintenance, but CFOS sounds like it is certainly worth looking into.

Dorsetmike
Oct-22-2009, 12:14
I have a package deal, 10Mb for £14 plus £11 =£25/($40) for phone, the phone gives me free calls to all UK landline numbers except the premium rate 084x, 087x and 09xx. I can upgrade to 20Mb for £31/$50 or 50Mb for £39/$62.50, all with the phone package.

I could add a TV deal to any of those, but as I've only switched the TV on twice since last Christmas .........................

Montefalco
Jul-26-2010, 11:46
I had wireless installed recently, however I still use cable occasionally.

methodistgirl
Jul-26-2010, 14:18
When I hooked up with AT&T they saw me coming and took me
for a good one and their dial up box kept on disconnecting which
stunk. Now I use the local cable called New wave. They have
me on a Motorola box which works like a charm.
judy tooley

Povster
Aug-02-2010, 10:02
I've had Pacbell's dsl since I moved here to SF form Boston in 1999. In all that time i have had 3 outages which were fixed the same day. I really can't complain about it, but I am less than a mile from the central office so tht probably accounts for the performance and stability.

GoneBaroque
Jun-01-2011, 17:17
I use DSL from Verizon which works very well most of the time. With any system there are minor annoyances. There is one thing that I do not like about Verizon. When I first started with them they had an excellent virus protection system which did everythine on an automatic schedule. They have since changed to a new one which I frankly hate. It has to be reset several times a day. Very annoying! But, I refuse to go to cable, especially Comcast who are the worst. The reason for cable exclusivity is of course what the Arabs call Baksheesh to corrupt officials.

Rob

Corno Dolce
Jun-01-2011, 19:41
Currently a 4G dongle that provides 50 Mbps, so I can't complain really........

Krummhorn
Jun-01-2011, 20:04
. . . But, I refuse to go to cable, especially Comcast who are the worst. The reason for cable exclusivity is of course what the Arabs call Baksheesh to corrupt officials.
Rob

Hi Rob,

Interesting about Comcast in your region ... here, at least in Tucson, they are by far better than our other option, Cox Cable, which I had before my present DSL connection with Qwest. Cox was unreliable, down at least three days each month, slower than snot (17 kbps) downloads ... yes, that said 17 kbps, and outer space pricing, especially when I was paying for 20 Mbps service. Cox would simply say "read your contract ... it says speeds 'up to' 20 Mb" ... meaning anything from 1.0 kbps to 20 mbps was 'acceptable' in their eyes.

Here, the Qwest DSL service includes Norton Anti-virus ... I think it's standard also on Comcast here.

Dorsetmike
Jun-01-2011, 20:13
I was surprised when I did a speed test, I pay for a service "up to" 10Mb and actually get around 9,6Mb, the only tests listed for others in the locality that are higher are paying for up to 20 or 30Mb, the 20Mb is only a few doors away and is only getting 11.7Mb, and a couple of 30Mb subscribers are getting around 18Mb, so I think I'll stay as I am, especially as the upload has recently been upgraded and now operates at between 0.96 and 1.03 considerably better than the 0.2 I was getting.

Any way it's all a far cry from 56K dial up I started with a few years back.

teddy
Jun-02-2011, 12:00
As I live quite away from the exchange our speeds are not that high but I never have any trouble. £30.00 a month pays for broadband, line rental and nearly all my calls are free, anytime. This includes 087 numbers.

teddy