• Home
  • /
  • Composition
  • /
  • Christmas fanfare for two trumpets and organ – Den yndigste rose

Christmas fanfare for two trumpets and organ – Den yndigste rose

My new Fanfare for two trumpets and organ is based on the beloved Danish Christmas hymn Den yndigste rose er funden (Now found is the Fairest of Roses).

The fanfare was premiered in Saint Paul’s Church, Copenhagen, on the first Sunday of Advent, December 3rd, in celebration of the church’s 140-years jubilee, and the re-dedication of the church tower.

The video was recorded on December 12th with trumpeters Jeppe Lindberg Nielsen and Nikolaj Viltoft – in opposite ends of the church – and myself on the pipe organ.

I created the work in such a way that it is possible to place the second trumpet very far from the organ and first trumpet. All that is necessary is for the two trumpeters to have eye contact. The work can also be performed with both trumpets next to the organ, but the spatial “antiphonal” effect of having them in each end of the church is quite impactful.

UPDATE, 20 JUNE 2018: The score (and parts) for “The Fairest of Roses” (Den yndigste rose) has now been published by Edition Wilhelm Hansen.

Youtube link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ivNO_lDxd8


  • Don Roeder

    December 18, 2017 at 17:44

    Is the Fanfare for Two Trumpets and Oran published and is it available for purchase?

    It is a wonderful addition to the Christmas literature!

  • Terry Schnarr

    January 17, 2018 at 14:52

    Please send me a copy of “Christmas Fanfare For Two Trumpets And Organ – Den Yndigste Rose.” I am really looking forward to doing this next December. Thanks so much!

  • Ted Cronbaugh

    June 20, 2018 at 01:38

    Happen to stumble upon the video and just LOVE IT!!
    If it’s free – I would love to have a copy – but if it’s now published,
    please provide information on publisher to purchase.
    Thanks for a WONDERFUL arrangement! Would love to use it in the future.

    All the best.

    • Frederik Magle

      June 20, 2018 at 18:46

      Hello Ted, I’m very happy you like it! The sheet music is now published by Edition Wilhelm Hansen and will be available from Hal Leonard and other distributors within a few weeks. However, you can also contact Wilhelm Hansen directly to purchase the score and parts right away. I will send you their email by email. Best regards, Frederik


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.